The Division operates six recycling drop-off centers in the County. Residents are allowed to bring glass, aluminum and bi-metal cans,plastic, newspaper, and magazines and corrugated cardboard to the centers. County personnel collect the material and transport it to various nearby recyclers.

This included

  • waste oil,
  • paper,
  • plastics,
  • glass,
  • metals,
  • white goods (appliances),
  • excavated soil,
  • compost materials including crab chum and agricultural products,
  • tires, and
  • wood materials that can be converted to compost.The minimum required by State law is 15%. The bulk of the recycling material was the agricultural waste at the composting site.